The 5+2 diet – Has anyone tried this?

It seems to be all the rage at the moment to do the 5:2 diet (or 5+2 diet). Even the National Press have recently run articles on it.

A friend of mine is starting this diet tomorrow and I have asked him to let me know how he gets on.

Supposedly you can loose 2lb a week by following this diet plan. That would be approx 26lb in 3 months (just under 2 stone weight loss in 3 months!!!!)

The way it works is that you have 2 x fasting days a week for example on a Monday and a Thursday where you have a low calorie breakfast like scrambled eggs on a small slice of toast and then you do not eat until the evening when you would just eat some grilled chicken with vegetables or salad. You need to eat less than 600 calories (500 for women) throughout the whole day. You can still drink water, black coffee or tea during the day.

Then on the other 5 days you eat normally.

The diet is supposed to have many positive health benefits such as lowering the risk of diabetes and heart disease etc.

Here is a link to the wikipedia page for further information.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/5:2_diet

Here is a link to Amazon and a diet book which tells you how to follow the diet
http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-2-Day-Diet-Week-Normally/dp/0091948053/ref=pd_bxgy_b_img_y/280-2269088-9639231
I intend to do some more research into this diet and I will possibly try the diet myself, however I think I need to get used to the lower amount of calories I am already consuming first (for a few weeks) before venturing into new territory.

It will be interesting to see how my friend gets on with the diet and I shall be following his progress with great interest. Hopefully he will be able to provide me with some feedback that I can then post onto this blog for you all to see. Watch this space.

6 thoughts on “The 5+2 diet – Has anyone tried this?

  1. These always concern me, how sustainable is it? Surely it’s better to look for a lifestyle solution that will reeducate your body for the long term than follow another fad.

    Yes of course it will work. It’s a no brainer you’re consuming 50% less calories on those days. But you can’t keep that up forever.

    Maybe away to kick start your body into weight loss, but always with the fear that you’ll put it back on as soon as you return to normal eating?

    Just follow the simple rule….. Eat less and move more!! Very sustainable for a lifetime

    Xx

  2. Hi Charlotte, my brother-in-law and his parents do this diet and it works.But you still have to limit your calories on the non diet days, but it is easier to do according to them and the results good and weight is staying off, which is ore encouraging. Well done on your first week hope results show tomorrow, love Lorraine xx

  3. My husband has been loosely following this concept since October last year.It definitely works. He is looking decidedly trim. Tuesdays and Thursdays are his restricted calorie days.He doesn’t seem to hold back at all for the rest of the week. I keep meaning to try it. If only I had more self control. Cooking for the kids does me in every single time. Good luck. He says psychologically its easier because he knows he only has to be good one day at a time.

  4. Think long term hon, there are no miracle solutions!! Of course you will lose weight more quickly in the short term if you are restricting your calorie intake so drastically for 2 days a week. However, like the majority of diets, this is not teaching you how to establish and maintain healthy eating habits for life.
    Remember my favourite quote,….
    “In an industry that makes millions from diet fads and weight loss pills it is worth noting that the dieting industry is the only business in the world with a 98% failure rate!!!” ….eeek xx

  5. To me it sounds like utter hell! The lure of being able to eat normally for 5 days is pretty big, but for one I don’t eat ‘normally’, which is why I need to lose weight in the first place!

    Apart from that I couldn’t do the other side of it. If I don’t have enough to eat I’m irritable, have headaches, feel dizzy, tired… it just wouldn’t be worth it.

    The health benefits this diet supposedly have are the same you get purely from losing weight, no matter how you go about it. All I can see is that it encourages disordered eating and wouldn’t be workable long-term.

    It’s great that you have taken the time to research and ask for other people’s opinions about this diet. I hope you find a plan that works best for you xx

  6. I have been following this for 6 weeks now. However, on the other 5 days, I eat healthy meals: salad with grilled chicken, brown rice and veggies, fresh fruit, eggs, no sugar, limited carbs, limited dairy. I have lot 18 lbs and has been fairly easy. The restriction in calories isnt so bad as long as you limited fat and sugar the other 5 days. Empty carbs, sugar and fat make you crave more. Preplanning and prep for the week is the key. Having healthy options onhand is essential. Good luck! 18 down, 40 more lbs to go!

Leave a Reply

