Tough day today

Today has been tough. I started the day off well with a bowl of fruit and yoghurt but by 10.30 I was hungry and the hunger does not seem to have shifted. I have been sipping green tea and water in the hope the at the hunger goes away. In fact I am not sure if it is hunger as my tummy feels bloated/full but I just want to eat something.

I am not sure I know what hungry is so it is hard for me to determine whether I am hungry or just wanting food for the sake of it. I am sure its the wanting food for the sake of it but I am not sure why I want the food for the sake of it. Does that make any sense?

I got on the scales this morning and my weight seems to be the same as my weight at weigh in last Thursday which is slightly worrying. However yesterday I was (at one point) 4lb lighter. I guess it will just be the luck of the day tomorrow. My weight yesterday was at xx stone 6lb which is the lowest weight that has come up on the scales so far so I am hopeful that all I am doing is making a difference.

I have just found a book that I purchased a couple of years ago by an author called Marissa Peer called “You Can Be Thin” this book was recommended to my by a friend and I did read it at the time but I was not in the right frame of mind then to actually take action. So I have started to read it again. She provides tips using your mind to avoid bad foods for example; look at a pizza as though its a bit of bread with lard on it (the cheese). She also recommends putting some bread in some water and leaving it for a couple of days to see what it looks like after the couple of days have passed then imagine this in your stomach. I will tell you more once I have read more of the book.

Right so nice slow cooked chicken paprika for tea tonight, I am starving (or am I) so am really looking forward to it. Wish me luck for weigh in tomorrow. I think I need it after today.

2 thoughts on “Tough day today

  1. Hunger is a state of mind, we have no idea what hunger really feels like if we compare our existence to those living in the third world. Doing the 5:2 thing has been an eye opener so far, and the hunger comes in waves, but you really just need to do something to occupy your mind (probably away from the kitchen) until it passes. Keep going gal!

  2. Hi Charlotte, Firstly, I want to say a big ‘well done!’ for giving up smoking. This is a huge step forward in terms of health benefits (and many others) for you, Olivia, and anyone that enjoys your company. And now you are taking on this challenge which will further increase your health and happiness, and I have no doubt that you will be successful in this too 🙂
    I have only just caught up on all your blogs, and have so many tips and ideas for you (but got to go to work in a few mins so can’t type them all now!). But specifically on your blogs about hunger and snacking – have you tried ‘mug shots’? Many of them are ‘free’ on S.W and I find them quite satisfying. You can find them near the soup aisle usually, lots of nice flavours to choose from (avoid the cheesy ones). These are the only things I keep at work as ‘back up snacks’ – as they are the type of thing I only fancy if I am really hungry, and then I really enjoy them. So I keep a bag of them at work, and a selection at home too. For me, I think if i were really feeling hungry, drinking tea would only fill the gap a short while and then if I weren’t to eat something, all I would be thinking about is food! So best to have something sensible / small and then be able to forget about it and get on with your day.
    Also, I limit my weighing at home to absolutely no more than once a day (same time, same clothes, scales in same place) otherwise it can get overly obsesive (and probably confusing / demoralising). Ideally, I would weigh no more than once or twice a week, and would consider if I thought I might get a good result or not – if you know you are following the plan, sometimes it’s better to just wait a few days and have the confidence to know that it will work, rather than weigh yourself too often and get fed up if you don’t see as much loss as you think you deserve. If you decide in your mind not to weigh for (say) 3 days, it can be quite a short term motivator to keep you focussed until your pre-determined ‘weigh in’.
    Good luck today. If the scales reflect what you think you deserve – great! If they don’t, know that if you’re sticking to the plan, the efforts you have put in this week will probably show next week on the scales and make that your motivator – to ensure you reap the benefits next week and push towards your goal for next week.

Leave a Reply

