There are children starving in the world and here am dieting because I have eaten too much!!!

A friend of mine posted a status on facebook about making sandwiches for 120+ school children in the Namibia (where she lives) she posted the status on a Friday to say she had made them all a sardine sandwich and that they probably wouldn’t eat again until the following Monday when the charity my friend is helping feeds them again!!!

This really puts things into perspective. I am overweight (not rich) but can afford food and do eat 3 meals a day plus snacks and suddenly I see a friend of mine helping a charity to feed children whom won’t get another item of food for another 2 days at least!!!.

We are so lucky to live such a privileged life where we have roofs over our heads, heating, clothes, food and we can afford luxuries such as TV’s ipods, iphones, holidays, nice cars, popping out for a meal to a restaurant with friends etc. I am now feeling slightly guilty about making such a big thing about going on a diet and loosing weight when there are people in this world that would give anything to eat a tenth of what I eat a day.

It also makes me think about all the food I waste and throw out because it is out of date. I am sure we are all guilty of this.

If am totally honest I probably don’t know what being hungry feels like. Yes I have gone all day without eating food but I would still have a meal at the end of the day – some people go for days without food.

We are so so lucky. Next time I see a charity collecting for hungry children I will be donating some money (even if I am skint) I will donate what I can afford at the time and will go without myself for a day or so if it feeds someone else who is really and truly starving hungry.

Leave a Reply

